Genesis/ Plato/ Peter Pan – The Trinity of Chi Chien’s Theatre of the Century

Written by Liu Yao-Chung 

Genesis 1:3 says “‘Let there be light,’ and there was light.” God has what He wants, and the first thing He asks for is “light.”  Indeed, if not for light, we would not have had darkness.  In other words, light means shadow.  You can imagine that “illumination” symbolizes two totally opposite concepts.  As observers, we seem to stand in-between the two to search for the origin and the destination of light.  Precisely speaking, when God says “Let there be light,” He not only creates shadow but also language and object.  He uses the words “L-I-G-H-T” to refer to the idea of “light.”  Through the illuminated, its opposite comparison is born from the void.

In Plato’s Allegory of the Cave, the person who escapes from the cave returns and tells the others that “The Truth Is Out There.”[1]  Here, for Plato, the shadow on the wall is merely the projection of the Truth.  Such a cause-and-effect relationship makes shadow an illusionary attachment which is subject to the real “Subject.”  However, if it were really the case, Sir James Matthew Barrie’s Peter Pan in Peter Pan: The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up would not have his own shadow cut off by the closing window and then makes great effort to find it back.  It proves that the shadow of Peter Pan has the same solid existence as its Subject.  They share the similar shape as well as an interactive existence which allows them to have their own free movements.

“Light” has always been an important theme in Chi Chien’s artworks. The penetration of light suggests the difference between the surface and the interior.  Meanwhile, illumination symbolically leads us to civilization/order.  As we pass the light God creates, Plato’s cave, and Peter Pan’s shadow, we will see how light is transformed from an element to an event in Chi Chien’s Theatre of the Century.  A state of being on the canvas, an object, and the shadow of it exist on the same plane at the same time.  Sometimes, it is accompanied by the light source (light bulb), reminding us of the famous artwork “One and Three Chairs” by the conceptual artist Joseph Kosuth.  However, Theatre of the Century is different from Kosuth’s artworks for that it removes the differences among the various materials, adopting the method of collage to capture the linguistic symbols in a more truthful way.  When we examine an image like this, the light source we see is not illuminated on the hand puppet while the shadow is not resulted from it.  The composition of the image challenges our pre-existing logical understanding of light and shadow.  They thus become two different existences which share the same shape.  It can be further traced back to the surrealistic works such as Max Ernst’s “The Hat Makes the Man.” René François Ghislain Magritte’s “Euclidean Walks” and the deconstructed image/language in “It Is Not a Pipe” are particularly close to the artistic idea of Theatre of the Century.   

As its title suggests, Chi Chien’s Theatre of the Century freezes the beginning and the end at the present moment, where light, shadow, and language take place simultaneously.  Since cause and effect have been removed, the moment of seeing brings us back to the initiation of world, offering us another possibility to build up a new world.


[1] It is a famous quote from The X-files, an American science fiction drama television series.

創世/柏拉圖/彼得潘 :齊簡「世紀劇場」的三位一體

文 / 劉耀中

創世紀1:3記載:神說要有光:就有光(Let there be light: and there was light)。

神說了算,而祂的第一句話竟然是光!也罷,不然何來黑暗之有呢?換句話說,光線就是影子,你可以想像「照射」這個動作它象徵了相互對立的兩面,而身為觀察者的我們彷彿總是站在這之中追尋著光線的來源與終點。更進一步來說,神說有光的同時,不僅創造了影子,也創造了語言與物件;讓「ㄍㄨㄤ,光」這樣的語言來指涉「光」本身,透過被照射的所有一切,讓對照從虛無中誕生。

柏拉圖的洞穴寓言(Allegory of the Cave)中脫逃的人回到洞穴裡告訴其他人:真相就在外部(The Truth Is Out There)[1]。在此,牆上的黑影對柏拉圖而言僅僅是真實的投射,這樣的因果關係讓黑影成為一種虛幻的附屬品,服從於實存的本體。但若真如此,詹姆斯‧馬修‧貝瑞筆下的彼得潘(Peter Pan: The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up)也不會被關下的窗戶夾斷自己的影子,而後再費盡力氣的追回。可見彼得潘的影子顯然的與本尊有著同樣的扎實感,共享相同的輪廓但卻又能夠自由行動的相互存在。

「光」在齊簡的創作中一直扮演著十分重要的角色,透過光線的穿透提示出表層與內在的差異,或者帶點將照明作為觀看引導與文明/秩序的象徵。而我們在通過了神的光、柏拉圖的洞穴,以及彼得潘的影之後,再來看齊簡的「世紀劇場」,便會發現光線從元素轉變成為了事件,一場發生在畫布中的狀態,一個物件、影子同時存在於同一平面上,偶爾伴隨著光源現身(燈泡),令人聯想到觀念藝術家科舒斯(Joseph Kosuth)那著名的「一與三張椅子」作品。但與科舒斯不同之處在於「世紀劇場」除去了材質間的差異,以拼貼的手法讓影像更貼近語言符號的樣貌。閱讀這樣的畫面,我們看到的光源並不是照射在手偶上,而影子也並非因此而生,這樣的構成方式切斷了原本既定印象中光影的邏輯,於是成為了共享相同輪廓的相異存在。而如此的狀態更能夠追溯到超現實主義時期的作品中,例如畫面的構成方式近似於恩斯特「以帽子造人」等作品的,從馬格利特「歐幾里德的散步」作品來切入則更加貼近,同時帶有作品「這不是支煙斗」中對影像與語言的拆解。

齊簡的「世紀劇場」如其命題,光、影、語言同時蹦發,將開始、結局凝縮在畫面當下的瞬間之中,除去了因果,讓觀看的同時回到創世之初的啟始,提供了我們建構新世界的一種可能。


[1] 美國科幻影集「X檔案」(THE X-FILES)經典台詞。